July 26, 2006

The Value of Experienced Developers

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:49 pm by lugnuthorsefly

this link on reddit caught my eye. It’s about the value of experienced developers. I find myself in agreement with the sentiment for two reasons:

1: I’m an experienced developer. The idea that I am valuable is both pleasing and correct.

2: Here’s the difference between experienced developers and new ones: experienced developers don’t spin their wheels as much. The experienced developer will fix that weird link error or memory allocation bug right away instead of spending two days on it. Why? Because they’ve seen it before, they spent two days on exactly the same bug eight years ago.

There are amazing graduate developers, of course, but how are they to be detected in the hiring process?

Leave a comment